The Olympics are Over

by

What better time to make my “come back” post, than immediately after the 2008 Olympic games?

Yes, I watched them.  Not all of them of course.  Due to the location of the events, some of the good stuff doesn’t come on until way past my bedtime.  And I need to work in the morning, so I can’t stay up to watch sports I’ve never heard of (water polo) nor did I ever know was an Olympic sport.  (Table tennis?)

Water polo.  This looks like a cross breed of soccer, volleyball and swimming.  I guess you can say handball and swimming, but still…  This was a sport I had a hard time following.  I disliked the men’s uniform, or lack thereof.  I much preferred woman’s beach volleyball.  The U.S. properly kicked all the other women quite nicely as well as looking good doing it.  I must say, before I start having crushes on some athletes, I like to check their ages first.  Some of them are super cute, because they are super young…  So that’s just a warning.

And I didn’t know what all the hoopla was about over this dude Phelps…  Until I saw him swim.  He was something totally amazing to watch.  I say congrats to that swimming freak of nature.  The Redeem Team?  I only watched a couple games but wow, did they hurt some countries.  I also just loved how these big names went out and supported their countrymen in other events.  Seeing Kobe support Phelps and all that stuff.  Makes you feel all warm and gushy inside.  Okay, it ain’t that deep.

This isn’t a review of the Olympics.  More of a reflection.  Kinda sad it’s over.  I liked knowing I had at least 1 of 5 channels to turn to and see some crazy event.  I liked watching fencing too.  But now that’s over too.  Time to get ready for TV’s new fall season.  I’ll be right there picking out which show isn’t going to make it next year, or even til November.  Too bad really.  Oh well.

On a completely unrelated note– anyone hear about the new working at home craze?  Guess who officially starts doing that starting tomorrow?  All I can say is, “Enjoy that morning traffic, buying gas, and just having to leave the house at all.”  That’s all.  Oh yeah, and “Woot!”

USA took home 110 medals.  China had the most gold, but we had the most altogether.  2012, my brother-in-law and I are going to compete in the race-walk.  Remind me to post a video next time… or just look it up… it’s hilarious.  But we will do the pimped out version because we can’t be doing all that swishing.  Anyway, GO USA!  2010 is the Winter Olympics.  Not as much fun, but still worth the TV coverage.

Leave a Reply

